Free Shipping On Orders Over $65!

FREE Shipping on Orders Over $65! (See Details)

Reviews & Awards

Read what people have said about Tillen Farms

San Francisco Chronicle, February 8, 2013

‘Our winner was Tillen Farms Bada Bing Cherries. "Not a typical maraschino," these "plump Bing cherries" were a "beautiful" "dark cherry color." Made without food dye or corn syrup, they also had a "clean cherry flavor" and "good texture" - "maybe the most like fresh" cherries.’


Sunset magazine, July 2012 Issue

Forget the neon maraschinos of the past. These plump, all-natural Bada Bing cherries from Oregon have the right balance of tart and sweet, and make your cocktail or banana split taste like summer.


Peachy Deegan, Editor in Chief, WhomYouKnow.com.

We invite you to check Peachy's blog entries from April 2nd and March 28th where she reviewed, in exquisite detail, Tillen Farms Merry Maraschinos, Crispy Carrots, Bada Bing Cherries, Crispy Asparagus and Hot ‘N Spicy Beans.


Review: Tillen Farms Garnishes

Christopher Null, Drinkhacker.com, the essential blog for the discriminating drinker! - Posted on February 26, 2012

Tillen Farms Merry Maraschino Cherries – It’s hard to believe that these bright red orbs contain no red dye. Sweetened only with cane sugar, these are traditional Maraschinos: Very sugary (and sticky as hell) with just a dusting of fruit flavor underneath. There’s more depth here, though, than in the the typical Maraschino, and more importantly, no nasty, chemical aftertaste. A- / $7 per 14 oz. jar

Tillen Farms Bada Bing Cherries – When you’re ready to upgrade your cherry, jump for these bad boys: Real (and large) Bing cherries in syrup. The effect is much like a brandied cherry, without the alcohol. Rich, earthy, and a bit sour, these cherries are still plenty sweet enough to give a Shirley Temple a bit more pop. Great for a Manhattan, even better for muddled cocktails when you really want to amp up the flavor. A / $7 per 13.5 oz. jar

Tillen Farms Hot & Spicy Crispy Beans – These pickled green beans are obviously of high quality, with nary a blemish. Long and authentic, these string beans are pickled with lots of dill, garlic, and red pepper flakes. They pack a spicy punch, but not overbearingly so. Decent green bean flavor, too, but there’s not too much of it — which is probably for the best. B+ / $7 per 12 oz. jar

Tillen Farms Crispy Asparagus – Again, very high-quality, thin, and crispy asparagus spears are pickled with plenty of garlic. These are mild, however — a spicy version is available, too — and there’s a good balance between the vegetal character and the pickling spices, but the overall results are distinctly asparagus. Not bad at all, assuming, as with the beans, you’re using these in a Bloody Mary. One of the company’s two original products, dating back to 1984. B+ / $7 per 12 oz. jar

Reprinted by permission.


Kelsey Blackwell, Sr. Food Editor for Natural Food Merchandiser magazine - January 18th, 2012

“After eating one bada bing, my tongue said "bada boom." These preserved cherries which are nearly black in color, taste just like they were canned at home. And, unlike most store-bought maraschinos or other jarred cherries, they're free of preservatives, artificial colors and high-fructose corn syrup”

Reprinted by permission.


Tori Theriot
Thrifty Tori - February 11, 2011

This was my afternoon snack! Yum: carrots, asparagus and spicy snap peas...

"My favorite of these three is the asparagus yum, I love the texture the crunch is amazing. When I think of pickled veggies I don't picture a crunchy fresh tasting vegetable, but that is just what you get from Tillen Farms veggies. The spicier veggies were a little to much for me but my husband loved them so they will not go to waste. These make a great healthy snack to keep in the fridge and since they are pickled they will last for quite some time.

One of my other favorites was the cherries. These are some great sundae topping cherries!! I was really impressed with the fact these are made with natural ingredients."

Reprinted by permission.


Christin Banda
The ABCD Diaries - January 27, 2011

These were a hit at our house :) We were very surprised with how crunchy the veggies were...

"I honestly have never had a pickled vegetable that wasn't soggy and let me tell you, the crunch really improves the pickled veggie experience! B and I preferred the hot and spicy varieties and the kiddos loved the carrots and the asparagus. We are blessed with veggie-loving kiddos, but they haven't had much experience with pickled veggies other than pickles and olives. They requested these veggies as snacks over cookies and candy! I'm lovin' that! Of course the cherries were a smash hit...I thought there was a noticeable difference between the taste of Tillen Farms version and the jarred cherries we usually buy. As you can tell, we were definitely sold on these delicious jarred treats and super impressed to boot! Another huge plus was the tips on how to use the veggies...while they are great by themselves they really can perk up your salads, hors d'oeuvres and drinks:) ABCD Diaries gives Tillen Farms an A+!"

Reprinted by permission.


Fancy Food Show - The Latest and Greatest Finds in Food"
Click Here to Watch the Video
NBC Today Show - July 1, 2010

Reprinted by permission.


Martha Stewart Radio Blog - June 30, 2010

10 Foods to Try in 2010 - A Report from the Fancy Food Show

"Don't be fooled by the jar! The pickled vegetables from Tillen Farms are crunchy, fresh, and perfect for your next Bloody Mary or martini. The Crispy Snap Peas were one of my all-around favorite tastes of the day."

Reprinted by permission.


Tillen Farms 96 Rating!

Phil Lempert,
The Supermarket Guru - July 1, 2009

Click Here to Watch the Video

HungryGirl.com, 9/29/2008

Tillen Farms Pickled Crispy Veggies - If you enjoy pickles and pickled things, you're gonna FREAK over these jars of pickled veggies (we did!) -- everything from carrots to green beans. They're low-cal, delicious, and some are even SPICY. Enjoy a serving (3 to 5 pieces or 1/4 cup) for 10 - 30 calories, 0g fat, 1 - 7g carbs, 0 - 1g fiber, and 0 - 1g protein (POINTS® value 0*). Yup, you have to get these online as well (unless you're lucky, and a nearby store stocks 'em).


Tillen Farms Pickled Crispy Asparagus
NASFT 2007 Product Award Finalist - Outstanding Appetizer, Antipasto, Salsa or Dip


- The Nibble - November 2006

"They're a quick and simple way to turn the ordinary into something special. No matter what the season, Tillen Farms Pickled Vegetables are always in season."

Reprinted by permission.


- ENTREE - July-August 2006

"We discovered Tillen Farms recently and their delicious, crisp, low-carb, fat-free, cholesterol-free, all natural hors d’oeuvres. Their slogan, Freshly picked at the peak of perfection! says it all. These hand-picked, naturally processed, pickled vegetables are a delight. They are deliriously crunchy with fresh-from-the-field flavor and nothing but all-natural ingredients. There is an array of different vegetables: dilly beans, asparagus, carrots, green beans, sweet bell peppers, sunnysides, and snap peas, all done with special herbs and spices. The premium vegetables used by Tillen Farms come from Washington State and are at their freshest. Owner Tim Metzger guarantees that they will delight your taste buds."

Reprinted by permission.


- SAVEUR - February 2006

The SAVEUR 100 "Our favorite restaurants, food, drink, people, places and things."


How We Get Pickled - "Talk about snap peas: TILLEN FARMS CRISPY SNAPPERS from Washington's Yakima Valley are crisp, piquant, and garlicky, with a touch of sweetness, thanks to pieces of red bell pepper in the bottom of the jar."

Reprinted by permission.


Jebba M. Handley
- The Cape Codder - June 4, 2004

"Let me begin with purchased hors d'oeuvres. Tillen Farms is producing marvelous pickled vegetables, picked at the peak of perfection in the fertile, volcanic soil of the Yakima Valley in Washington State. The Tillen Farms veggies, packed in handsome glass gars, include two kinds of asparagus and two kinds of string beans, one type hot and spicy, the other not, plus crunchy carrots, sugar snap peas and sweet bell peppers. Either style of their pickled asparagus is particularly delicious when wrapped in thinly sliced prosciutto. Fanned out on a plate, it makes an enticing presentation and is perfect for those following a low-carb lifestyle."

Reprinted by permission.